Album Review: The Slip – Eisenhower (2006)

“Well the world is only a stage
And I’m just a man
With a sound caught in his throat
And a pick in his hand”

This is quite an old album – it was released in 2006 – and a couple of years ago I heard it and absolutely loved it. The other day it suddenly came back to me when I caught a whiff of something that must have reminded me of that time. It was a surreal moment but I went home straight away and put it on. It’s just as good as I remember it and I thought I’d share it, because I don’t think it’s very well known.

I’ll first say that it isn’t prog, it’s more like straightforward indie-rock, but if you’re open minded then I think you’ll enjoy it. It has a great mix of upbeat and melancholic tracks, the latter of which I prefer, particularly ‘If One Of Us Shall Fall’ and ‘Suffocation Keep’. I was first turned onto the band through the video game Guitar Hero, on which ‘Even Rats’ appears, which is one of the album’s best and most instantly accessible songs. In fact most songs are enjoyable from the first listen, only a couple might take a few listens or rub people up the wrong way. I can’t say I really like ‘First Panda In Space’ which is a jazzy, experimental interlude that leads into ‘The Soft Machine’ – a good, punchy indie-rock song.

There’s something about this album that feels different to most ‘standard’ indie albums, and I can’t put my finger on what it is. Perhaps the often witty and interesting lyrics, or the fact that I listened to it at a particular point in my life. Who knows, all I can say is that I highly recommend it if you’re looking for something different, accessible and fresh.

Standout tracks: Even Rats, Suffocation Keep, Life In Disguise

7/10

Leave a Reply

