Song Review: Steven Wilson – Hand Cannot Erase

As the first single from his new album, Hand.Cannot.Erase, the almost-title-track comes long-awaited by many. I for one am not disappointed, but by being almost a straight up pop-rock song, I can understand why some hardcore prog fans may have been underwhelmed. That said, those who are fans of Steven Wilson and know his work with Porcupine Tree will not be surprised; PT released songs such as ‘Trains’ and ‘Lazarus’ which were not necessarily very progressive and leaned towards more straightforward rock and pop sensibilities.

The song starts delicately, and crescendos into rocky territory with a big, uplifting chorus and and neat guitar solo. The instrumentation is tight and not over-extravagant, as prog sometimes is. This all creates a punchy and memorable song, and bodes very well for the upcoming album and tour.

9/10

5 Comments

  1. I only listened to a snippet of the song – I guess I’m waiting until I have the album in my possession – but I liked what I heard.

    Yes, PT and Wilson himself have been known to release the tracks which can be thrust into the public eye, and seeing as the last few albums he’s written have been full-on prog, I think is him beginning to mature in his music.

    Like

    • You say that about the tracks that can be thrust into the public eye, but the other track from the album that’s been released, Perfect Life, is not what I expected at all. I don’t want to give too much away if you’ve not heard it and want to wait for the album, but it’s heavily related to the concept and features a voice actress, so who knows?

      I feel like both the tracks could be him trying to set the tone for the album…it may be partially more accessible and ‘mainstream’ but it’s certainly not him departing from his progressive roots, and he’s not scared to venture into new territory and try new things.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

